Technical: Film Make-up Practice

Here I have practised the make-up that I would like to use in my film. This was mainly just a test to see how the makeup that I had designed on paper would look on the face. I am really pleased with the outcome of the makeup, I think that it suits my theme and mood of my film. As my film revolves around the feeling of being trapped, I wanted the makeup to be very dark. I have decided that the main colours in my film are to be black, white and gold, so a very limited palette will be used in the makeup look. I think that if I had chosen gold eyes for the makeup, this would not have had the desired effect, as the black draws in the eye, and is a more sombre and unhappy colour. Initially when thinking about the makeup, I was going focus on much more of a softer smokey eye, but I felt this was not dramatic enough. As I imagined my film to be very abstract, especially the shoots in the studios, I wanted the makeup to re-inforce that idea, so I added on the flicks at the bottom of the eyes, which make it look more sci-fi and sharp. I decided that the lips were to match the sharpness of the eye flicks, so I chose black lipstick which was applied with a liner brush, to make sure that the line was very clean. I then added in the gold to the inner corners of the eyes and the centre of the lips and blended out. I think this brought the whole look together. I had trouble with making the dewy skin, mainly down to the products that I was using. I used the grease-based UltraFoundation Palette to even out the skin tone, then tried to buff in the Radiance Veil Highlighting Primer on top of this, but this made the foundation gather together creating an uneven base. I tried to start the skin again, and put the highlighter on first this time but I felt like the skin was not highlighted enough. I then worked out that if I tapped the highlighter into the skin, this made the highlight glowing and dewy, without ruining the base makeup. I topped up the highlight with the Sculpting Powder Duo and the Kryolan GlamourGlow Palette, so the skin was glowing and fresh. I didn’t go too extreme with the contour, as I didn’t want this to take away from the drama of the eyes. I brushed through the brows with the highlight, which I think was a good decision as this brought the whole look more together and completed the finishing touches. I sprayed over the skin with the MAC Fix+ spray, which left the skin fresh and dewy. I am pleased with the final outcome of this look, as I think it is really suitable to the theme of my mood. I think I would like the eyes to be a little more metallic looking, so I would like to try applying the highlight over the lids and then layer the black on top.

 

Health and Safety.

-Make sure products, brushes and equipment are sanitised and ready to use.

-All surfaces are to have been cleaned.

-No cross-contamination/double-dipping.

-Wear hair up, no jewellery as this can get caught during the makeup.

Products.

  • UltraFoundation Palette
  • Radiance Veil
  • Sculpting Powder Duo
  • GlamourGlow Palette
  • Translucent Powder
  • Skin Base Lift – 02
  • Illamasqua Neutral Palette
  • Supra Colour Gold
  • Black LipMix
  • MAC Fix+

Method.

  1. Prep the skin using cleanser, toner and moisturiser. The look is dewy skin so moisturiser is a must.
  2. Match the foundation to the model’s skin tone, and focus on applying it to the centre of the face, and buffing out using a buffing brush.
  3. Tap Illamasqua Radiance Veil into the tops of the cheekbones, forehead, bridge of nose, chip and cupids bow.
  4. Powder the areas that you do not want to be dewy, such as the creases of the nose, outsides of the chin and forehead, using the Translucent Powder. Powder under the cheekbones, so that the powder contour does not become uneven.
  5. Contour the cheeks, around the edges of the forehead and the nose.
  6. Layer on the GlamourGlow highlight and the sculpting powder duo highlight onto the cheekbones.
  7. Slightly fill in the brows, keeping the look natural, then brush in the Radiance Veil into them using a mascara wand. You only want to just coat the hairs, so no clumps.
  8. Work black eyeshadow from the neutral palette into the eye sockets, making the colour very prominent and dark on the lids, and blend outwards. Line the eye and blend out, creating the flicks with an angled brush.
  9. Apply gold supra colour into the inner corner of the eyes on both the top lid and bottom.
  10. Apply black LipMix using a small detailing brush, creating a slick line. Apply all over the lips.
  11. Apply the gold supra colour to the centre of the top and bottom lip.
  12. Spritz the skin with the MAC Fix+.

 

 

Leave a comment