Technical: Natural Makeup

The aim for this technical lesson was to create a natural makeup look, without it looking like the model was wearing makeup. This is important in film particularly, as many roles do need seem as if they are wearing makeup, when without it, the camera picks up any blemishes or dark circles.

Health and Safety:

  • Always make sure that the workstation, hands, products and equipment are correctly sanitised.
  • Hair up with no jewellery.
  • Complete a full consultation beforehand, noting any allergies or infections.

 

Products:

  • MAC Fix+.
  • Kryolan Camouflage palette.
  • Bobbi Brown Pro Longwear Foundation in 00 Alabaster.
  • Illamasqua Translucent Powder.
  • MAC Strobe Cream.
  • Kryolan Blush Palette.
  • Kryolan Lip Palette
  • Brown mascara.

Method:

  1. Prep the face using cleaner, toner and moisturiser.
  2. Apply a green toned concealer over any blemishes, as seen below.
  3. Work foundation in the matching shade into the centre of the face, and buff outwards to give a natural appearance.
  4. Using a powder puff, press powder into the skin, particularly in places that you do not want to look oily. Do not use too much powder.
  5. Using strobe cream, tap it into the high points of the face, and the eyelids.
  6. With the Kryolan Blush palette, using the dark brown, line the eye socket lightly to give the eye depth.
  7. Fill in brows if necessary, but very lightly.
  8. Find a neutral tone of lip colour in the Kryolan palette and fill in the lips.
  9. Apply a small amount of brown mascara to the lashes.

 

 

Here is my no-makeup, makeup look. I think I did well considering that I usually like a thicker layer of foundation, so I was good not to sway myself and add more onto the skin. I really liked this look as my model appeared fresh-faced, and glowing. I am pleased with the skin, as I didn’t expect it to look so healthy and glowing. I would liked to have put a little more mascara on the eyes to open them up a little, but I am pleased that I didn’t go over the top. I correctly matched the skin tone, so that the makeup looked like it was part of the skin. I think that buffing out the skin has made the foundation be part of the skin rather than just a layer, which some foundations often seem to do. I really like the Bobbi Brown Pro Longwear Foundations, I have bought 6 for my kit in different shades. I am using a lot more of the paler tones in my work. The foundations don’t appear too cakey, which I think gives this look the freshness that it needs.

 

Leave a comment